27th Hula O Nā Keiki

The 27th Celebration of Hula O Nā Keiki will be held November 10-11, 2017 at Kāʻanapali Beach Hotel. Hula students from Hawai`i and around the world are invited to compete through interview, dance, chant, and costume categories.


Rules

Hula O Nā Keiki Rules 2017


What's New This Year? 

SOLO HULA AUANA

‘Auana songs must be in the Hawaiian language. Songs must be written between 1970 to presentThemed choices are:

1. Love Songs - Songs that express the constant feelings of love for a person. References to nature in the song should represent feelings of love for a person. 

2. Songs Honoring a Particular Place in Hawai‘i – A place may be a home, valley, bay, mountain, district, or series of places mentioned in the mele. 

HULA PĀLUA 

This year’s theme for pālua songs: Hapa Haole songs written between 1929-1959. Sufficient documentation of date it was written must be submitted. Copies of newspaper articles, web pages, magazines, etc. are examples of sufficient documentation. Please keep your documentation to a minimum to save the planet. 

AWARDS AND PRIZES 

The Hula O Nā Keiki Committee reserves the right to add, adjust or remove any prize category stated above, including combining the Overall Winners based on the number of entrants.

Friends of Moku‘ula Scholarship Award 
FOM generously gives scholarships to ‘ōpio seeking higher learning in Hawaiian Culture. A representative from FOM will sit in the interview session to evaluate which ‘ōpio is deserving of this award. 


Supporters

Mahalo to the businesses and organizations that helped to support this year’s competition. Their commitment to the perpetuation of Hawaiian culture helps make this event possible. (The business listing is based on alphabetical order)

Business Website
Chris Hart & Partners Inc. www.chpmaui.com
Friends of Moku'ula - Maui Nei Native Expeditions www.mokuula.com
Grand Wailea Resort www.grandwailea.com
Hawaiian Airlines www.hawaiianairlines.com
Honua Kai Resort & Spa www.honuakai.com
Lahaina Restoration Foundation www.lahainarestoration.org
Luxus International www.luxushawaii.com
Maui Electric Company www.mauielectric.com
Maui Hotel & Lodging Association www.mauihla.org
Maui Ocean Center www.mauioceancenter.com
Maui Soda & Ice Works - Roselani www.mauisoda.com    
www.roselani.com
Na Kani O Hula www.nakaniohula.com
Napili Kai Foundation www.napilikaifoundation.org
Old Lahaina Lu'au www.oldlahainaluau.com
Start-Me-Up Sportfishing www.sportfishingmaui.com
VIP Foodservice www.vipfoodservice.com
VJ Graphics www.vjgraphics.com
Williams & Associates www.williamsmaui.com


Event Contacts

Malia Kekona, Competition Administrator mkekona@kbhmaui.com  808-667-0139 

Dee Coyle, Co-Competition Administrator dcoyle@kbhmaui.com  808-667-0218 

Limited Time Only, starting from only $188 +
Simply Simple = Room + Breakfast
Book Now
Voted the Best on the island
Sunday Champagne Brunch
Lean more
The beach activities you cannot miss
Let's SUP
learn more
Air Package
Save Big on your Maui trip
learn more
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel
Special Codes